Carl Hutchinson: A 2015 EdFringe Interview

6 Aug

By Susan Ford

It’s here! Fringe week is finally upon us, as a mass of fantastic comedians migrate North for three weeks of the Edinburgh Festival. I was lucky to catch up with Carl Hutchinson on his holidays, as he prepares for his fifth Fringe and new show ‘Learning the Ropes’.
image
Hello Carl, how are you?
Good thanks, just gearing up for Edinburgh, well, just on holiday as I write this. Just watched a Scottish man try to order a cider to a Turkish barman. He came away with a single vodka – very amusing.

Are you excited about performing at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival this year?
I can’t wait! This show is about my passion for professional wrestling. My passions in life are comedy and wrestling. I’ve managed to combine the two, and yes it’s very exciting.

How many years have you performed in Edinburgh, and what does the Festival mean to you?
Well it’s the Wrestlemania of comedy. It’s the culmination of a year’s worth of work for me. You start in September writing, performing, editing, improving and come August you’ll have a show (hopefully). This will be my 5th year. Time flies. The first was ‘Big Value’, then ‘Acceptable at The Caves’ then it was ‘All the Rage’and the ‘Comedy Zone’, last year was ‘Here’s me Show’ and this year I present to you… ‘Learning the Ropes’.

Tell us about your new show for 2015?
The show is about my passion for pro wrestling, it’s about embracing your passion whatever it may be and in essence, embracing the person that you are.

imageWhat’s the story behind the picture on your Festival poster?
Learning the ropes, wrestling, I’ve been learning to wrestle as part of the show. Needless to say I’ve had the hell beat out of me.

What’s the best audience reaction you’ve experienced whilst performing at the Edinburgh Fringe?
I love it when people react to something that isn’t a punchline. A laugh is easy, when you can draw another emotion from them though it’s very satisfying.

What do your pre-festival preparations involve?
I’m on me holidays 🙂
Haha me girlfriend is a primary school teacher so between the 6 weeks and the festival the last 2 weeks of July is all we can get.

Will you be involved in any other shows this year other than your solo show?
Nope I’ll be concentrating fully on Learning the Ropes.

What other acts do you recommend we catch at this year’s Fringe?
Phil Ellis, Peter Brush, Jonny Pelham, and Gavin Webster.

Carl Hutchinson ‘Learning the Ropes‘ is on at the Stand Comedy Club 5&6 at 21.10

Leave a Reply

