Kiri Pritchard-McLean – A 2016 Edinburgh Fringe Interview

2 Aug

Interviewed by Susan Ford

You may have seen Kiri recently on Russell Howard’s Stand Up Central, heard her on eery podcast ‘All Killa No Filla’, or seen her perform as part of Gein’s Family Giftshop? However you already know Kiri Pritchard-McLean, you are about to know her again as one of the best new stand ups at the Edinburgh Festival, in her solo show “Hysterical Woman”. I was lucky to get a chat with the busiest lady in comedy, Kiri, as the Fringe begins to heat up this week.

kiri

Hello Kiri, how are you?
I’m cracking. As I type I’ve just woken up which means I get to get excited about the food I might eat today. The world is my oyster, although I’m almost definitely not going to have oysters. But I could, that’s the point.

Are you excited about performing at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival this year?
So excited but also terrified! It’s the Nemesis at Alton Towers all over again.

Although this is not your first time performing at the Edinburgh Festival, I believe this is your first solo show? Tell us more about “Hysterical Woman“…
I decided I wanted to talk about something I really cared about and that I wasn’t just going to do my normal stand up. So, I’m talking about stereotypes in race and gender. I really hope it doesn’t end up being sexist or racist, or worse, unfunny.

How does performing as part of a comedy group compare to performing solo?
Oh it’s so different! In Gein’s Family Giftshop we’re a team and we support each other when the writing and performing gets tough. Also, if they have a bad preview I’m the eyes in the room that can go “ok, you were great, you just weren’t for them”, or “you guys were lazy and that’s why it didn’t work”. When I preview my show on my own there’;s no one to tell me why it’s going wrong!

What are your expectations and dreams for this year’s Fringe?
The dream is to not go mad.  I see so many comedians let the stress and scrutiny tip them over the edge so I’;m hoping to just focus on doing a good show I’m proud of everyday. Expectations wise, I expect that for at least one week I will go mad.

What is your favourite thing about the Festival?
I adore comedy and the people that work in it, so it’s great to have most those people in one place for the month. Good eggs everywhere.

How do you plan on remaining unique with so many performers at the Fringe and what will make you stand out?
I think just staying true to what I believe in as an individual and choosing to talk about that on stage head on. If that doesn’t work I might go on a killing spree and hope it makes the front page of Chortle.

What preparations do you have in place for the lead up to the Festival?
A fair few previews plus some time put aside to find a new raincoat.

Will you be involved in any other shows other than your solo one this year?
Yes! Gein’s and sketch supremos Goose run a night in London called “Suspiciously Cheap Comedy”. We’;re doing a one off Edinburgh show on the 15th which I’m compering. It’s for charity and the line-up is amazing although we’re not announcing it yet! I’m also compering “Funny for a Grrl”, a brilliant daily showcase of all the hilarious chicks in comedy. Mary Bourke curates it so well, the shows are great. Plus she is one of the best comics I’ve worked with so come for her if nothing else!

Although you and Rachel Fairburn freak me out a lot with the content of podcast “All Killa No Filla”, I absolutely love it. Will you be bringing this back to the Festival in 2016?
Oh! We so wanted to! At present we’re still trying to find a venue but it’s looking less and less hopeful. We’re definitely going to record a load up there, if we can’t do it with an audience we’ll just do it in a darkened room at my flat. Probably more fitting that way anyway.

What’s the best and worst audience reaction that you have experienced whilst performing at the Edinburgh Fringe, and how do you deal with hecklers?
I think best and worst was the same gig. In 2013 I did a split half hour with Pete Otway and one day we only had three people in. A reviewer, her friend and our friend to make up the numbers. Tough gig, particularly as our friend didn’t laugh at anything. I shouted at him afterwards and he said “I’ve heard it all before”. She actually gave us a lovely review though so although the gig was an ordeal, I got a quote out of it.

Still not forgiven my friend though.

What other acts do you recommend we catch at this year’s Fringe?
So many, it is an embarrassment of riches this year. Jayde Adams is hilarious so go and see her. Goose are exceptional and about three years ahead of what everyone else is doing. Rachel Fairburn is up with her show which from what I’ve seen so far will be brilliant. Also, my best comedy friends are all taking their first hours up so go and see Brennan Reece, Pete Otway and Will Duggan (the friend that didn’t laugh). Also, my other half James Meehan is up. If you go and see him tell him I said I’;ve written all the funniest jokes in his show.

Twitter- @kiripritchardmc
Fb- https://m.facebook.com/kipritchardmcleancomedian/
Website- kiripritchardmclean.co.uk

Leave a Reply

