In the Hot Seat: David Trent

21 Jul

Photo of David TrentIt’s two weeks until the 2017 Edinburgh Fringe! In the run up to the most exciting event on the planet, we will be asking our favourite acts some searching questions. Who better to start with than one of our all- time favourites, the mighty David Trent.

Close your eyes and picture Edinburgh. What do you see?

I see a massive fuck off mountain with city built into the side of it with a big bridge and a newsagent at the end of it where you can get a banana condom.

What is the last thing that made you snort with laughter?

I’ve not snorted with laughter at anything for a while, but I have snorted with pride and trying not to cry when I watch someone I like win at Wimbledon, or when I listened to McEnroe’s Desert Island Discs, oh my goodness, I love Johnny Mac.

Tell us about this year’s show.

I’ll tell you the truth, it’s my best one and it doesn’t have a single routine in it that I don’t love. Every other show I’ve done has had a bit in it that I’ve had to hold my breath and go “right, head down, you know this bit is shit but it’ll be over in ten minutes” whereas this one I love every single bit of it. It’s my funniest show. I always struggle with this question because I believe that it’s not a film, the narrative or the theme of the show isn’t so important to a comedy audience but if you need a theme it’s that there’s a lot of stupid things aren’t there and let’s laugh at those stupid things.

Who do you want to see this year?

What is the purpose of this question? Do you want me to recommend shows? I don’t have any particular ones I want to see, but I’m going to make an effort this year to try and spend my time in Edinburgh how I used to before I was a comedian, walking around and going to things as and when I stumbled across them. I used to love doing that so much and I’ve stopped doing it as much in my last few visits.

Do you have any Edinburgh Fringe traditions?

Yes. I have an Edinburgh tradition of avoiding developing any traditions. I feel like this answer is the worst answer I have ever given.

What is your getting ready music?

Usually my loyal tech Homebrew Hingley will play my guitar acoustically while we wait for the show before us to finish. He will play a bit of Smiths and I will think “shut up Homebrew, I’m trying to focus on getting into a high state of anxiety about how few people will be out there.”

If you could have any guest in your show, who would it be?

Johnny Marr. I would get him to teach a wider repertoire of songs to Homebrew Hingley for the pre show.

What is the best backhanded compliment you have had?

WOAH SHIT. I just got a show cancelled because “Basically, the company doing the show on the Saturday has vetoed the booking, as they think the audience won’t be comedy literate enough.” I’m so comedy, that I’m unsuitable to play a comedy gig.

Who made you howl with laughter when you were a child?

The Young Ones. Holy fuck. Changed the game. I was 11, it built me.

What should Donald Trump know?

Who the fuck is Donald Trump?

What do you do in Edinburgh that your parents wouldn´t approve of?

Nothing. My parents know who I am.

Thanks for having me Punchline. You are good people. x

See David Trent: Here’s Your Future at 10.35pm @ Just the Tonic at the Caves

Leave a Reply

