In the Hot Seat: Adam Hess

23 Jul

Photograph of Adam HessAdam Hess is promising even more jokes than last year, if that’s possible! Here are his answers to our burning questions:

Close your eyes and picture Edinburgh. What do you see?

I’m on the Royal Mile. I see a bunch of drama students who think they are reinventing drama with their original take on a play about WW2. One of them dressed as an evacuee or something runs up to me with a flyer in his hand and says ‘Urgent telegram sir! Scandal at the rationing office!’ I walk away.

What is the last thing that made you snort with laughter?

I came up with a theory that the reason that babies cry so much is because they are itchy and they don’t know what to do about it. I laughed to myself on a bus while trying to imagine a baby scratching itself and it felt good and nice.

Tell us about this year’s show.

It’s about how I used to obsessively document everything I did and thought for about 10 years. I ended up with thousands of A4 pages of ‘stuff’ which I will have hanging up on the stage during my show. The show is essentially about how nostalgia is dangerous and we just think the past is good because we have selective memories. It is jam packed full of funny things though I promise. I try to squeeze as many jokes in to my shows as possible to make sure that the audience are constantly laughing and this year’s has more jokes than last year so hopefully the depressing message of the show is offset with some enough laughs.

Who do you want to see this year?

Nick Coyle, an Australian funny guy doing a very spooky show indeed.

Do you have any Edinburgh Fringe traditions?

One of my traditions is to ruin my immune system and liver while exhibiting questionable clothes-washing habits. Another tradition is that every day in Edinburgh I am compelled to make a room of 130 people laugh hysterically for a constant 60 minutes with my cheeky brand of anecdotal silliness. I also jog 10km every morning.

What is your getting ready music?

I have a shower just before every show while listening to Oops I Did It Again. The song always gets me in a good mood because it allows me to think about Britney Spears in her prime and I think my audience deserve to see me smiling from the moment I walk out on that stage. Also at 3m40 it’s the perfect length for a shower.

If you could have any guest in your show, who would it be?

Either Mitch Hedberg or Britney Spears circa March 1999.

What is the best backhanded compliment you have had?

Ever the optimist, it takes me years to realise when I’ve been insulted. The best ones are when someone comes up to me after a show and the only thing they say is ‘You have such a good memory to remember all of that’ and ‘God you’re brave!’ A lot of people tell me they couldn’t do what I do because they don’t have the confidence, which I find insulting too. When people say this to me I always tell them that the reason I’m not a footballer is because I don’t have the confidence.

Who made you howl with laughter when you were a child?

I didn’t really understand what humour was until I was at least 9. I was a right idiot. I thought the sentence ‘To get to the other side’ was just an inherently funny sentence so I would just say it in response to everything I was asked in order to get a laugh. Obviously it made grownups laugh but this wasn’t helpful for my cognitive development. I found Manuel on Fawlty Towers hilarious but didn’t know why. When they kept saying ‘He’s from Barcelona’ I didn’t know that was a place in Spain I just thought it was a local place that crazy people lived. I thought Manuel was just a very very silly man. I also didn’t understand that Mr Bean was a character played by an actor. I thought it was just a man who was so silly that they started to film him. My mum showed me Blackadder one day because she knew I liked ‘Rowan Atkinson’ and I got so confused that I had a sort of weird panic attack and my mum had to give me a bath to calm me down.

What should Donald Trump know?

I don’t know who that is.

What do you do in Edinburgh that your parents wouldn´t approve of?

Stand up comedy

Catch Adam Hess: Cactus at 6pm at Heroes at the Hive througout August

Leave a Reply

