In the Hot Seat: Jonny Pelham

24 Jul

Photograph of Jonny PelhamClose your eyes and picture Edinburgh. What do you see?

I see a crying clown.

What is the last thing that made you snort with laughter?

I played pickaboo with my niece and really got into it.

Tell us about this years show?

I went to my great auntie’s funeral (actually her 93rd birthday but it felt like a funeral because death was definitely around) and had one of those existential moments where you think What the hell am I doing with my life? The show is about how I have tried to engage with the world more on a personal, political and social level.

Do you have any Edinburgh Festival traditions?

Not really, every year is so different. I tend to have a bit of a breakdown about half way through so I guess that could be classed as something of a tradition now.

What is your getting ready music?

I don’t really have anything particular just something generally upbeat.

If you could have any guest in your show, who would it be?

Rowan Atkinson – he would have to sit at the back though because it would be too terrifying having Mr Bean stare at you as you desperately tried to make people laugh.

What is the best backhanded compliment you have ever had?

It is really brave what you do, was that your first time? It was not my first time, but I decided to say it was.

Who made you howl with laughter when you were a child?

I used to laugh a lot when I used to run. I am not really sure why and I imagine it must have been slightly terrifying for everyone else. Just a child running and manically laughing.

What should Donald Trump know?

Lots more than he does.

What do you do in Edinburgh that your parents wouldn’t approve of?

My mum is next to me as I am writing, this I am not sure, she is quite a liberal woman and I don’t really to do much, I probably drink more than I should but I reckon that is to be expected.

Catch Jonny Pelham: Just Shout Louder at 7.45pm at the Gilded Balloon Teviot throughout August

Leave a Reply

