In the Hot Seat: Sofie Hagen

1 Aug

Photo of Sofie HaganClose your eyes and picture Edinburgh. What do you see?

My raincoat drying on a chair.

What is the last thing that made you snort with laughter?

A joke Mark Watson did on stage about a wall.

Tell us about this year’s show.

It is a show about how I was raised by my psychopathic step-grandfather in a town called Shametown. It’s a true story about emotional abuse. It’s quite dark but hopefully also funny. I sure love telling it.

Who do you want to see this year?

I need to see Bilal Zafar, Jayde Adams, Evelyn Mok, Lauren Patterson, Kwame Asante, Hannah Gadsby, Sara Pascoe, Athena Kugblenu, Sean McLoughlin, Edd Hedges, Desiree Burch, Angela Barnes, Larry Dean… If I just watch 5-6 shows a day, I think I’ll make it.

Do you have any Edinburgh Fringe traditions?

I usually have one batch of Danish food (I’m from Denmark) delivered to my flat to the great disgust of my flatmates. I then just eat leverpostej, rødbeder and rugbrød for days. It tastes like home, my flatmates don’t steal it and I’m happy again.

What is your getting ready music?

Something happy and cheerful like Walk The Moon or The Ark.

If you could have any guest in your show, who would it be?

My dad, so I’d know where he was. LOL, just kidding, probably whoever books Just For Laughs in Montreal.

What is the best backhanded compliment you have had?

I had someone tweet after a preview this year, ‘Great show tonight! With three months to go, you’ll be fine!’ which would have been great, was it not July.

Who made you howl with laughter when you were a child?

There is a Danish comedian who used to do these impressions of a children’s cartoon. It was hilarious. He sounded just like the actual cartoon. I watched him all the time, crying with laughter. Later, everyone realised that he was actually the voice actor behind the cartoon. That’s when I learned not to trust anyone.

What should Donald Trump know?

I mean, at this point, just anything. Anything would be good.

What do you do in Edinburgh that your parents wouldn’t approve of?

Not a single thing. If that’s because my parents are hardcore or if I am just a good catholic school girl, I’ll let that be up to you to decide.

Catch Sofie Hagen: Dead Baby Frog at 2pm at the Bedlam Theatre throughout August.

Sofie is in our top recommendations for this year

Leave a Reply

