In the Hot Seat: Suzi Ruffell

Photograph of Suzi RuffellClose your eyes and picture Edinburgh. What do you see?

Hurrying down the Royal Mile in the rain in between two late night gigs.

What is the last thing that made you snort with laughter?

My housemate Jenny Bede (show daily in the Pleasance Dome at 8:10pm) just accidentally threw my phone across the room and cracked my screen, her face was an absolute picture, bit of a piss take though.

Tell us about this year’s show.

This show explores what it means to be a white, gay, working class woman who straddles both the small minded views of the town I grew up in and the artsy, liberal London life that I chose for myself. Now more than ever before post Brexit and one hundred arguments my family I hope to provide a refreshingly different and important take on it on whether you can ever escape the class you were born into. I also have some cracking stuff on having my heart broken and as a teenager being a member of Portsmouth’s biggest reptile club.

Who do you want to see this year?

This question is always so hard, there’s heaps and heaps, a few that come to mind are Jenny’s (mainly to throw a phone at her while she is on stage), Tom Allen, Ivo Graham, Hannah Gadsby and I will be on the hunt for some good theatre and some mad contemporary dance.

Do you have any Edinburgh Fringe traditions?

Just absolutely smashing gigs and crying. Jokes. No it’s not really.

Also Mums for sausage and mash.

What is your getting ready music?

I love listening to The Streets, Jay Z, Beyoncé and musicals pre-gig. I am eclectic if nothing else.

If you could have any guest in your show, who would it be?

My cat, just because I will miss her at the Fringe or The 2 Dope Queens.

What is the best backhanded compliment you have had?

‘You’re the funniest girl I have seen.’

Who made you howl with laughter when you were a child?

My Dad. He would do bits with full act outs of people he had met.

What should Donald Trump know?

That he is massive prick.

What do you do in Edinburgh that your parents wouldn´t approve of?

My parents are very chill so it would probably be telling me to eat healthy and exercise and to stop worrying.

Catch Suzi Ruffell: Keeping It Classy at 9.45pm at the Pleasance Courtyard throughout August

Published by Punchline

Your secret source of comedy knowledge at the Edinburgh Fringe

Leave a comment