In the Hot Seat: Spencer Jones

Photo of Spencer JonesThis is one of the funniest and most original acts on the Fringe. No he really is. Everyone should see this show.

Close your eyes and picture Edinburgh. What do you see?

I see cobbled streets and pizza. Tartan and seagulls. Matt Ewins sat on a wall at 2 in the morning smoking cigarettes. Bob Slayer drunk climbing up the side of a bus with an angle grinder at 4 in the morning. Me in my overpriced flat trying to make something funny involving tennis balls. Boxes of unused fliers. And hopefully a full audience laughing when I wanted them to.

What is the last thing that made you snort with laughter?

I have taught my 2 year old daughter to say ‘Independent Woman’ when I am changing her nappy. That’s always funny. And last night on the phone Charlie Baker told me a story about a piano. Proper funny.

Tell us about this year’s show?

It’s a day in the life of me in my house. Some work stuff, some family stuff, and me pottering about. I’ve called it The Audition because I am pretty shit at them most of the time. They say “write what you know”.

Do you have any Edinburgh Fringe traditions?

Every year I fail to see as many shows as I could. This year I am going to try really hard.

What is your getting ready music?

Sleaford Mods. Black Grape. Stormzy. Rage against the Machine.

If you could have any guest in your show, who would it be?

My Mum. She’s never seen me do live comedy and if she was a guest then she might catch a bit of the show from the side while she was waiting to come on. I have no idea what she would do once she was on. Make everyone very sugary tea probably.

What is the best backhanded compliment you have ever had?

‘I don’t know what the hell that was, I didn’t get it, but the audience were laughing hard so, you must be good at what you do.’

Who made you howl with laughter when you were a child?

My Grandad pinching my Nan’s arse was always funny.

What should Donald Trump know?

He should know I’m coming for him, at an angle he won’t understand and will never be able to predict.

What do you do in Edinburgh that your parents wouldn’t approve of?

My Mum might read this so I am keeping quiet. But let’s just say Crack and Bondage and Armed Robbery.

Catch Spencer Jones: The Audition at 6.20pm at Heroes @ Monkey Barrel throughout August

Published by Punchline

Your secret source of comedy knowledge at the Edinburgh Fringe

Leave a comment